OK

Posted: July 16, 2005 in Uncategorized

Here’s a slightly happier post.

My bank has majorly fucked up.

As you all know, I sorted out a payment plan with CCCS. Part of the plan was to pay £19 a month towards my overdraft.

I got a letter from the bank to say they were closing down my account, because I had taken debt advice and was unable to pay my loan or Visa bill.

Rang bank, explained I didn’t have a loan or Visa card with them. THey admitted it was a mistake, and had no idea why I had been sent the letter. They wouldn’t be closing down my account, and they would arrange a reducing overdraft, to reduce by £20 a month for the next 6 months.

All is good.

I look at my account online, to find my overdraft limit is nil. After hyperventilating for a few minutes, I ring the bank who then tell me the screen didn’t load, and it should still be £500, and not to worry. Lo and behold, I go to the machine, and the money is there. Hurrah.

Noticed a couple of days ago, an unpaid DD. Thought it may have been one earlier this month, but they’ve all been paid. This morning, I notice another one. Each comes with a £20 charge. (this is on top of the charges I was whining about the other day).

I ring the bank, and I ask why DDs have been refused when there is clearly enough overdraft left to cover it. Apparently my overdraft was lowered to £200. Without telling me, and they didn’t know why. While I was at it, I wanted to know what another charge of £15 was for. Was told by another bank person this was for going over my limit. Tried to explain that that charge, according to the screen, was going out on the 21st, in fact it had always gone out on the 21st.

Cue argument. Eventually he spoke to his manager, because he couldn’t tell me what the extra xharge was for, and how they’d managed to fuck it all so royally, taking 10 years off my life in the process.

The ‘happier’ bit? THey have decided to refund me £75 in bank charges. £40 of it was their fuckup, but I’m just glad to have an extra £30 this month.

And I thought ShatWest were incompetent! (they bloody charge more though!)

Now I’m going into town to look for a job, treat myself to a solitary book from a charity shop, and Mr Criz will buy me a drink and a bag of crisps. Hurrah.

Talk to me!

