Oddly optimistic

Posted: August 29, 2005 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Twice in one week, now there’s a first! Don’t hold your breath, for tomorrow the PMT begins…..

OK, so we went to the Marston Vale Forest Centre yesterday, and did the 5 mile walk around Stewartby Lake and the marsh. Ultimately, I’d like to be able to run it, but I saw SO MANY blackberry bushes! There was one family picking them, and I suspect I’ll be back in a couple of weeks, with a large tub. I love blackberries, and I love blackberry crumble.

Had some odd baking issues this weekend. The last few loaves of bread I’ve made in my machine have gone a bit tits up to be honest. They have barely risen, not cooked through properly, and the crust has been too hard. THe troubleshooting guide lists old yeast, crap flour, too much or too little water etc etc. I bought new yeast – no difference. I used a different brand of flour – no difference. Have changed the amount of water – no difference. Don’t get it. I usually do the 70% wholewheat option, but in the desperate hope of getting it to work, I have resorted to the 50% wholewheat loaf. I may have to stop buying the organic flour, as it seems to not like my machine. Not impressed by that, though it was fine before. Might have to ring the service centre.
Had the urge to make fairy cakes, so I did. They were OK, but a bit dry. Think I overcooked them. Made rock cakes yesterday, which came out much better. Shame I only had white flour. Will buy wholewheat next time.

Work is going better, but I am already behind after writing my lists. This was due to a particularly nightmarish day looking at historic duty rates. Hopefully I’ll get it sorted this week.

Will try to alter some trousers later. I made them a while ago, but they’re all baggy round the crotch. Lets hope I get it right, or else they’ll look really silly!

And I went to the gym. Finally found a programme I think I can stick with until Whitby. It’s a full body workout, three times a week. One exercise per bodypart, but the exercise changes each day, so today I did flat bench dumbbell press, dumbbell press and lat pulldowns, and Wednesday I will do incline barbell press, lateral raises and barbell rows etc. You get the picture. In between will be running, oh joy. Can do 5 mins at 10kph, will try to add at least a minute a week to that. I wore my heart rate monitor last time and horrified myself with my 185bpm heart rate! I thought it would have come down a bit by now. Ho hum. At least I can run at 185bpm without dropping dead. Migraines seem to start in the 195 region….

And the scales were better today – 11st 1lb. Seeing as they said 11st 5lbs on Thursday, I suspect I had a touch of water retention. I have been drinking loads this weekend, so must have flushed it all out.

Talk to me!

