Odd

Posted: October 10, 2005 in Uncategorized

Yesterday I went to a christening. It was strange. Going to a christening involves two things I don’t deal with weel – churches and children. The children were the least of my worries.

It was a joint Methodist C of E effort, though this particular one is mainly Methodist. It was chosen because they are a bit more tolerant of single mothers, apparently.

I went because Mr Criz was a godparent.

It was scary. Lots of trampling, burning and smiting, and much wailing and gnashing of teeth, after being thrown out of the party for wearing the wrong clothes. A nice bit of anti-Semitism there too, which made me wish I was Jewish, so I could have stood up and shouted ‘Nazis!’. And the old biddies kept thinking Mr Criz and Jen were the parents! Grrrrr.

I am traumatised. Luckily, I can’t think of anyone who is getting married/procreating/about to kark it soon, so I don’t forsee church horror anytime soon.

Meanwhile, I have a grim headache, and a potentially painful hospital appointment this afternoon. And my car’s in for MOT. And I have a chat with a financial bod about IVAs. It’s not as bad as it seems – though some of my debts have gone up, I have paid some off, but it’s still only half the total amount I’ve paid, and at this rate, will take nearly 7 years to pay off. I think not. I want a life, you know.

Talk to me!

