Rawk and Rooooll!

Posted: August 7, 2006 in Uncategorized

Due to the fact that everything electrical I touch goes a bit tits up (still haven’t checked the fuse on the telly, and my CD player only plays originals…), I had got bored of the limited amount of ‘proper’ CDs I own (that aren’t lost somewhere), so I opened one I got free with Classic Rock. Normally, I hate cover CDs,  because I only ever like one song, but I remember it was a Raw Power flexidisc that got me into Vain and Love/Hate, so I put it on. What also helped was that it’s a glam/sleaze compilation.

Well.

I’m impressed.  Particularly funny are the Sex Slaves, who have a  song on there called All  Night Long. It’s a long  time  since a song has  made me grin like a Cheshire cat,  but that’s exactly what it did. Even if it’s cheesy as hell, I love it. Found their Spazz page, only to see a song called  ‘Thank God For Jack’. It’s even longer since a song actually made me  laugh out loud. He he.

Just been for a drive and listened to the rest of the CD.  Overall it’s  pretty good.  It makes me remember why I like sleazy rock so much – crunchy guitars and rolling basslines – it  just brings a smile  to my face, and makes me want to move. Exactly what music should do.

When I was feeling really shit 6 months or so ago, there were 2 notable things that brought a smile to my face.  A real smile, and made me feel happy. The first was digging out my Bang Tango CD and playing it really loudly in the car on the way to work one day. The second was going to the Wildside in Nottingham for the first time. Took me back to my youth, and made me feel happy. After all, what’s to feel sad about? The songs are all about having a good time, sex, drugs and rock ‘n’ roll, and that’s what it’s all about after all.

Yay for Sleaze!

It also inspired me to spend far too much time on YouTube (yet again) looking at old LA Guns videos. And the Quireboys are playing Bedford again in a couple of months….

Talk to me!

