Today’s pattern rant

Posted: April 1, 2012 in Allotment, dressmaking, rantage, roller derby, What the fuck am I thinking?
Tags: , , , ,

Had a bit of an odd day today. I failed to get to the bout, which was annoying, as I was really looking forward to it. Sadly, eating large quantities of liquorice and grapes the day before was NOT a good plan! 😀

Instead, I went to visit a couple of lovely friends, one of whom fixed my green glass eye pendant (not as weird as it sounds – a dear friend made it for me, you can get one here http://www.etsy.com/shop/M1dnightDreary )

Same friend had also made me a rather lovely ladybird pendant. Yes, I am obsessed…you can view the rather stunning things she makes here http://www.facebook.com/pages/Urchindian/288403001170071

I then went to the allotment and put in the frame for my pea netting. Didn’t plant the peas as there’s risk of frost in next couple of days…didn’t put the actual net up either as I have visions of birds flying into it and getting trapped (had 2 drown in the water butts last year 😦 )

Back home, feeling a bit better and I decided to make the jacket from New Look 6947. I’ve made the trousers, they were a little big, but fit well (eventually) The jacket will have no sleeves and actually be a waistcoat, and I’m making it from the fabric left over from the Meringue. I had just over a metre, the pattern calls for at least a metre and a half, but having no sleeves, thought it would be fine….. 3 HOURS of pissing around later, I’ve got all the pieces to fit, but I’ll be buggered if I can be bothered to cut them out tonight!

Just as I pin the last piece on, I FINALLY find the piece that tells me the finished garment measurements….I should have known…..WTF do I need 6 and a half inches of ease in the bust for? WHY??? Gah.

I am now off for a cup of tea, some quality chill out time and a bath.

Talk to me!

