Still here – the Me-Made-May conclusion and thoughts

Posted: June 7, 2012 in Diet bollocks, dressmaking, fail, Fat bastard, MMM '12, roller derby, Training, WGT
Tags: , , , , , ,

Well, I’m still here. Been a bit slack of late because I’ve been too caught up in my other project – Operation Kickarse!

I have given myself 13 weeks to remove my excess flab and get myself fit again! It’s all in another blog, but I’m only on week 1, and tough times are coming up…. 😀

So, to MMM ’12. This was really hard. It became apparent that I’m not overly happy about the clothes I have made and think few of them are fit to be worn. The last week was even harder as the weather was so hot, I just wore shorts and a vest for most of it…I did wear the black Taffy one day but didn’t get a pic. I didn’t get to wear the black and pink PVC skirt because I’m just not doing that in 28C heat!

So, a few piccies;

The bed was enormous!

Double decker trains! (If only First Crapital Connect had these!)

Some cool decoration on this building, near where we stayed

Me-made ladybird corset, after tightening to give myself a waist lol!

And from the front

Me-made Space Dress (I did adjust the belt after this was taken) The hair is also me-made lol!

Oh, and the netty petty underneath is me-made too!

Oh and this amused me in the bagel shop;

 

Obviously I was aware something was wrong in my dressmaking, then I went to Leipzig. I got a LOT of inspiration, and ideas for things to make and the sort of styles I liked. Consequently, I came home and made myself a stretch jersey minidress which I may take pics of later 😀

It seems as much as I like pretty dresses etc, I’m rarely going to wear them, and what I need is loads of bits I can mix and match, mainly black, grey and red. Eek. That’s not to say I’m not still going to make cute retro dresses, but now I have lists of other things to make, some for fun, some not.

I need work trousers. With pockets. Urgh, so tempted just to trawl the charity shops.

I want some just above knee length culottes. I like little flared skirts but I have chubby legs and they chafe in summer. Culottes is best of both worlds….

A shruggy bolero thing in stretch fabric (lace, most likely)

A number of long tops. I’ve made two already, by drawing round one I bought at Leipzig and overlocking it – seemed to work well – one thing the Germans can do is goth summerwear 🙂

Right…tonight I’m off roller skating with friends, and yes I am taking knee pads, even if they make me look a dick.

Comments
  1. I’m dying for the top and skirt you wore with the ladybird corset — oh what the heck, I want the whole outfit! The space dress is lovely too. I’m also inspired by and working on jersey at the moment….must be the summer? The current fashion in clothes? The insane schedules we keep, or maybe all of the above?

    As for the work trou, I say charity shops all the way. No sense in sewing something that’s gonna be a chore.

    • beklet says:

      Ha ha the top was a charity shop find and my mate gave me the skirt……

      Jersey is nice but usually the good stuff isn’t cheap. Local fabric shop has some black t shirt fabric in, and it’s quite costly but I know I’ll live in it

Talk to me!

