Right, let’s sort this out

Posted: January 28, 2013 in dressmaking, Not a rant, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

As I said in my last post, I had already made a very basic bodice block, courtesy of the Metric Pattern Cutting book below….

Did a bit of faffing adding shaping, had a go at doing the princess seam thing, traced and cut out with 3/4 inch seams cos for some reason my Patternmaster doesn’t have 5/8″…

Cut out paper, pinned to lumpy…

image

image

Yes it’s bad pinning but from where I’m standing it looks like a reasonable fit. Next stage, which will be tomorrow, will be to make same out of some non stretchy fabric

 

Comments
  1. Great – hope this one makes better sense than the other two versions. I was thinking that it would probably be a good idea to google bodice fitting advice. Have you done this yet? Reason is there is so much info out there in the sewing blog world about how to fix fit problems and most of it is very very very useful. I’d be lost without it. Oh, and my books.

    Looking forward to seeing how you get on.

    • beklet says:

      Oh yes – there is FAR too much information though…I was recommended the book by a friend who makes all sorts of wonderful things for a living, though it’s in metric which is confusing!!! The book did me well for a skirt, so will see how this fits, and if not will then be on Youtube and google and blogs and EVERYTHING trying to sort it out. Unfortunately it seems most blogs know about swaybacks and FBAs but not ‘Muscular Back Adjustments’ and ‘Bicep Accommodation’ đŸ˜€

Talk to me!

